

For Immediate Release Date: December 3, 2020

Contact: Carmen Cusido (609) 376-9072

New Jersey State Board of Education Announces Award Recipients

Trenton, NJ – The New Jersey State Board of Education along with the Acting Commissioner of Education, Dr. Angelica Allen-McMillan recognized various educator award recipients, and also acknowledged the 2020 <u>National Blue Ribbon Schools</u> and the <u>National Green Ribbon Schools</u> during Wednesday's <u>monthly board</u> meeting.

Kathy Goldenberg, President of the New Jersey State Board of Education, said: "We take great pride in our teachers, principals, and educators who help make our schools among the best in the United States. We thank them for their hard work and the individual and collective sacrifices they've made to equip our students with the tools and support needed to succeed."

"In my 25-year career in public education, I have seen firsthand the positive power that educators and schools can have on student lives," **said Acting Education Commissioner Dr. Angelica Allen-McMillan.** "Now more than ever, we need to celebrate our state's great educators and schools. On behalf of the New Jersey Department of Education, congratulations and thank you to these educators and schools for going above and beyond."

Award	Recipient	
Superintendent of the Year	Joseph Meloche, Cherry Hill School District	
School Business Administrator of the Year	Thomas Eldridge, Lawrence Township School District	
Visionary Principal of the Year – Elementary Level	Christian Paskalides	
	Middle Township Elementary School, Middle	
	Township School District	
Visionary Principal of the Year – Secondary Level	Michael Vinella	
	East Brunswick High School, East Brunswick School	
	District	
2020-2021 State Teacher of the Year Finalist	Christina Gauss	
	Spanish Teacher	
	Rumson-Fair Haven Regional High School,	
	Rumson-Fair Haven Regional School District	
2020-2021 State Teacher of the Year Finalist	Megan Graziano	
	Science Teacher	
	Clifton High School, Clifton School District	

The 2020 State Board Recognition recipients are:

2020-2021 State Teacher of the Year Finalist	Rachel Krementz
	Special Education Teacher
	Ocean Academy,
	Cape May County Special Services School District

Both the Blue and Green Ribbon Schools are announced by the United States Department of Education annually during the fall.

The New Jersey public schools that received the 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools designation include:

County	District	School
Bergen	Bogota Public School District	Lillian M. Steen Elementary School
Bergen	Fair Lawn Public School District	Henry B. Milnes Elementary School
Essex	North Caldwell Public Schools	Gould School
Hudson	Hudson County Schools of Technology	County Prep High School
Hunterdon	Tewksbury Township School District	Old Turnpike School
Monmouth	Manalapan-Englishtown Regional School District	Clark Mills School
Morris	Denville Township School District	Riverview Elementary School
Ocean	Island Heights School District	Island Heights Elementary School
Union	Linden Public School District	School No. 5

The New Jersey public schools that received the 2020 National Green Ribbon Schools designation include:

County	District	School
Cape May	Cape May City School District	Cape May City Elementary School
Hunterdon County	Readington School District	Readington Middle School





